AAANZ logo

The AANZ Arts Writing & Publishing Awards (AWPAs) highlight the vitality of arts publishing in the region and acknowledge the contribution of both emerging and established scholars, curators and artists. The Awards play a pivotal role in promoting the importance of writing and publishing in disseminating knowledge and understanding of the visual arts, craft and design. They are the only prizes in the Australasia region to celebrate the publishing achievements writers make to the field.

AWAPAs categories include prizes for books, exhibition catalogues, artist led publications, Indigenous Australian, Māori and Pasifika art writing. The Awards are sponsored by a number of universities, art museums, associations, publishing bodies and individuals.

AWAPAs recognises:

  • Originality and rigour of scholarship
  • Contribution to knowledge in the area and impact on scholarly debate in the field
  • Significance of the topic to the field and to adjacent disciplines
  • Significance and originality of arts research
  • Quality of the design and production values of the publication
  • Ability to convey complex ideas to wider audiences

Following a review of the Awards in 2020, AAANZ introduced a new category: Best Medium Exhibition Catalogue. This category responds to the wide range of activity that takes place in the gallery and museum sector and aims to promote better recognition of smaller and mid-range catalogue publishing.

To enter a publication in the AWAPAs, entrants must be a AAANZ member. Staff affiliated with museums and galleries that have AAANZ institutional membership are also eligible to enter publications.

Prize winners of each AWAPAs category are announced at the annual AAANZ conference. The deadline for AWAPAs entries is Friday 25 June, 2021.

To enter, visit the AANZ website and complete a nomination form. Following completion of the online AWAPAs entry form, two copies of each publication are required to be posted to the AAANZ Business Manager.