2016 winner: Valerie Sparks Prospero’s Island – North East 2016, from the series Prospero’s Island. Pigment ink-jet print, courtesy of the artist and THIS IS NO FANTASY + dianne tanzer gallery (Melbourne)
Entries are now open for the William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize. This year the winner of the prize will take home $30,000 – which is $5,000 more than previous years. For the first time in the history of the prize, Monash Gallery of Art will acquire the winning entry.
Established by MGA Foundation in 2006 to promote excellence in photography, the prize is open to any Australian photographer – established or emerging – and all genres of photography are eligible, as long as the work has been produced in the past year. There are no thematic restrictions. The exhibition of finalists also highlights some of the most interesting work being created by Australian photographers today. In this respect, the Bowness Photography Prize has become an important annual survey of contemporary photography in Australia. Previous winners include Valerie Sparks, Joseph McGlennon, Petrina Hicks and Pat Brassington.
This year’s judge panel consists of Australian architect, art patron and academic Corbett Lyon, artist Susan Fereday, and MGA senior curator Stephen Zagala.


Entries open – 31 May 2017 – (5pm) 12 July 2017
Finalists announced – 28 August 2017
Exhibition dates – 14 October – 26 November 2017
Opening and announcement – Thursday 19 October 2017

NOTE: The online entry form will be available from Wednesday 31 May, the entry specifications are available here.